THE MARKS OF GOOD LEADERSHIP OF ANY and EVERY MYW EXERCISE

HERE ARE SIX FACTORS

TO USE IN EVALUATING YOUR LEADERSHIP

OF EACH AND EVERY MYW WORKSHOP SESSION.

This is one of the most important things you will ever learn about leadership. After each and every session answer ‘yes’ or ‘no’ to these questions. It will tell you if you did it right, irrespective of how people responded.

1. Did I follow the printed process for this session, and stick to the point of this particular exercise (or did I wander off into other subjects)?

2. Did I encourage people’s participation, affirm their words, allow some silence (or did I talk too much)?

3. Was I being myself, making the session my own, and sharing my own personal story with humility and brevity (or was I trying to be someone else)?

4. Did I stick to time and leave some things unsaid? (Longer discussions do not always bring benefits in proportion to the time spent.)

5. Did I give a clear and simple beginning and ending (or did I keep re-stating what I think I meant if I thought about it sooner…)?

6. Did I explain clearly and briefly the Frameworks that summarised their responses (does not apply to all sessions but you get what it means)? That is, did I say how they fit together? (Even if you struggle to put people’s responses into categories, you can still prepare and explain the Framework.)

That’s it. Answer ‘yes’ to five out of six and you have done that session well. Less than that and you have to do some revision on your leadership style/habits. It may go deep, so get a mentor. If you answer with lots of ‘maybe’ you must seek out a mentor to discuss your leadership strengths. (You may like to try these questions out in some other things that you lead – you may find them useful guides.)

Leave a Reply

